Advisory Board

The Food Lab’s Advisory Board represents the diversity of perspectives in the South African food system. This group of individuals offer their time to support and guide the Lab.

Prof. Scott Drimie

SAFL Director

Stellenbosch University & Independent Consultant
Mervyn Abrahams

Lead: Programmes and Innovation

Pietermaritzburg Economic Justice and Dignity Group
Tatjana von Bormann

SAFL Chair

Independent consultant, formerly WWF South Africa
Kenneth Carden

SAFL Programme Manager

Independent Consultant
Nonhlanhla Joye


Umgibe Farming Organics and Training Institute
Mthetho Mkhungo

SAFL Programme Manager

Independent Consultant, PGS-SA
Kevin O’Brien

Group Company Secretary

SPAR Group
Prof. Andries du Toit


Institute for Poverty, Land, and Agrarian Studies
Prof. Ralph Hamann

ACDI Research Chair & GSB Research Director

University of Cape Town
Julia Harper

Food and Security Initiative Manager, Hope Project

University of Stellenbosch
Prof. Kennedy Dzama

Head of Department of Animal Sciences, Faculty of Agrisciences

University of Stellenbosch
Tozamile Lukhalo

District Director

Department of Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development (DALRRD)
Juanita Pardesi


Seriti Institute

Honorary Patron


The Southern Africa Food Lab is privileged to have Prof. Thuli Madonsela as its honorary patron.




The Faculty of AgriSciences at Stellenbosch University lends administrative and logistical support to SAFL to realise its activities.



We are grateful to the following people who served on the Advisory Board in the past:

  • Colleen Magner
  • Dineo Ndlanzi
  • Lisa Ronquest
  • Milla McLachlan
  • Norah Mlondobozi
  • Paula Nimpuno
  • Sasha Stevenson
  • Tsakani Ngomane